Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Turn Down that Racket:

This is the song that Jay-Z wrote for his daughter, Blue Ivy Carter, (who’s name still annoys me…) and it is the most adorable thing I have ever heard.  Such a proud father.

A Picture is Worth 1000 Words:

This is a photo I took when I was in New Orleans last spring.  It is a park on the edge of a neighborhood called “Musician’s Village” which is a place that was completely destroyed by Katrina, but is being rebuilt with help from Habitat for Humanity.  It was just a really cool place that really embodied New Orleans for me.  Music, people helping people, interesting architecture.  I liked it.  Click on the link above to learn more about it!

Looking Back, Looking Forward:

This past week was a short week…only four days.  Awesome!  So Monday I took the day and went into the city and the Shedd Aquarium.  So much fun.  I love that place!  I had my 10th birthday party there.  Fun fact.  It was also the day of the Packers/Bears game that year and the Shedd is down the street from Soldier Field.  My mother tells the story of being on a shuttle bus with a bunch of 10 year olds trying to teach the drunken Bears fans how to sing bus songs and girl scout songs.  She was horrified.  Anyways, Friday I had an all staff meeting at RKCAA all day.  Literally 7:30am-4:15pm.  UGH.  Hey, but we did the Cupid Shuffle and the Cha Cha Slide.  This is why I love what I do.  For those of you who don’t know what those are….these videos will show you: Cupid Shuffle and Cha Cha Slide.

An Apple A Day:

I don’t want winter to leave because that means my go to sweet is gone!  Instead of eating chocolate or sweets, I have been reaching for a clementine.  These little nuggets of deliciousness are amazing!  And even if they are genetically engineered…I don’t really care.  I would rather eat one of those than a piece of candy.

Fashion Fades, Only Style Remains:

Welp we finally had some snow hit Chicago.  So as I was out shoveling the drive way for the 15th time on Friday, it hit me that really no one looks attractive in winter gear.  I mean in hats, gloves, scarves, puffy coats, etc.  Its just awkward trying to stay warm and look good.  And what happens when you can’t find matching gloves in the pile of hats and gloves you have?  Or you can only find black gloves, but your coat is brown?  Daily struggles in my house.

Also what the hell is with this trend of wearing an animal on your head as a hat?  I’m sorry but that’s fine for a baby, but as a grown adult, you should not have ears on your hat.

Cute

Dumb

Just Can’t Stop:

Being cold. I’m always cold!  I try to wear scarves and sweaters but I only own so many and have issues wearing the same thing too many times…so I finally complained to my parents so much that my room was 20 degrees colder than the rest of the house that they bought me a space heater.  It has made my life so much more pleasant.  Granted, I still wear a sweatshirt to bed every night, but that may just be habit…

In the Kitchen:

I thought I would share two recipes that I know.  The first one is my fajita recipe.  I make it often because it is so easy, but delicious and fun to make.  Its also pretty darn good for you!

Fajitas

  1. Cut up some red peppers, green peppers, onions, or whatever other veggies you want, and chicken in to strips.
  2. Put the chicken in a frying pan with some olive oil and garlic.  Let that saute a bit and then add the veggies.
  3. Stir it all up together and add whatever amounts of cayenne pepper, chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, and salt.  You could also add paprika or onion powder if you want.
  4. Next you need some liquid of sorts.  Chicken stock works well, but if you don’t have any, just add some of your favorite salsa.
  5. Let the whole pan simmer for a few more minutes.
  6. Heat up some tortillas.  Serve with shredded cheese, sour cream, guacamole, and salsa.
  7. Voila!

This second recipe comes from my good friend Dori who is in France and always has some great recipe up her sleeve (mac and cheese with herbs de provence is a Dori creation)  Alors, here is her recipe for “crushed tomatos, veggies over rice and some cheese on top” meal.

  1. Sautee garlic and onions with some olive oil.
  2. Add any other veggies you want.  Dori suggests mushrooms, peppers, and something else for color.
  3. Add in some ground beef, already slightly browned and already seasoned with cinnamon, nutmeg, and chili powder.
  4. Add crushed tomatos and bring to a boil.
  5. Towards the end, add in your favorite red wine and let that come down to a simmer.
  6. Season to your liking – I plan on using herbs de provence, obviously…
  7. Put it over some brown rice (Uncle Ben’s works well) and put some shredded cheese on top!
  8. Et voila!  A perfect winter dish!

Feel free to email me any of your own recipes!  I love trying new ones!

