Please note the new page at the top titled “Recipes” – From now on, all recipes featured in weekly posts will also be recorded there.

Turn Down That Racket:

A Picture Is Worth 1000 Words:

I’m feeling a bit nostalgic (I know you are all surprised) so I’m including a few photos from Senior Week and Springfest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Along that nostalgia line, it has been brought to my attention that Betches Love This accurately describes my college life.  Especially 139. Losing Shit, 122. Being Inappropriate (especially at when we got to Pitchers early), 23. The Pregame, and 86. Fraternaties.  (credit goes to Kit Kat for starting me down this little nostalgic path.)

Looking Back, Looking Forward:

Well this week has been a bit of a whirlwind!  Monday night after work, I drove up to Madison with two coworkers for our VISTA training.  We certainly learned lots and lots, but we also drank lots and lots.  Wisconsin is really good for drinking whenever you want to.  Monday night brought dollar beer night.  Now these dollar beers were not just your average Miller lite, bud lite, PBR, etc.  No, this was ONE DOLLAR for ANY beer brewed in Wisconsin on tap.  Spotted Cow for a dollar?  Yes please!  Tuesday night brought beer purchased on food stamps and really cheap vodka.  And that was only in the hotel.  Soon we ventured out into the frigid Madison air and went to what was affectionately known as “The Bacon Bar” but truly called Wandos.  Apparently, on Tuesdays, for any drink you bought you got a platter of bacon with it.  And the best part?  Dollar beer night!  So for one dollar, you had a full can of beer AND a platter of bacon.  I’m really not sure how it could get better.

So we finally arrived home Wednesday evening and then my sister came home for her two day spring break.  Who gives students only two days of Spring break??  I think that’s a little ridiculous.  Anyways, its been great to see her!  We got mani/pedis on Saturday and did some shopping and watched Modern Family.  (for those of you who have not seen Modern Family, please watch it…the parents are basically my parents.  Especially Phil.  Phil = Dave.)

Also this week at work, we not only finally finished our renewal application for my position for next year for VISTA, but we had our first module of our Nonprofit Leadership Certificate Program.  This is a really cool opportunity.  It is a nonacademic certificate that teaches participants all parts of running a nonprofit, working for a nonprofit, working with nonprofits, and more.  I am helping teach it/learning from it as well!

An Apple A Day:

Ok this is a stretch, but has anyone been keeping up with this New Orleans Saints scandal??  Goodness.  A bounty program for knocking players out of the game?  I was an athlete for a long time and I know how much adrenaline is rushing when you know you have a big opponent you need to take out, but for money?  No way.  And now apparently the Redskins are also being investigated for participating in a bounty program under Gregg Williams.

Remember when Earl Bennett was knocked out for five games after playing the Saints?  Well here’s why.

Fashion Fades, Only Style Remains:

Blazers.  I love blazers.

I love black blazers, big blazers, colorful blazers, tweed blazers, all blazers.

You can wear them with jeans, skirts, dresses, dress pants, leggings.

Dress them up, dress them down. So versatile.

Just Can’t Stop:

Reading the Hunger Games. Now usually I try to stay away from books that are super popular because I have been burned in the past (I hated Twilight, Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, etc) but The Hunger Games are amazing.  I have finished the first two and can’t stop reading the third one.  Seriously.  Go read this book.

Also, I can’t wait for the movie to come out.  March 23.  Done.

In the Kitchen:

When I was in france, one of my favorite lunch items (other than your standard baguette and cheese) was a Nicoise Salad.  Well, I found a great recipe for a tuna nicoise sandwich!  I definitely plan on making this for lunch this week.

Tuna Nicoise Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons white-wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 whole wheat french baguette
  • 2 cans chunk light tuna in water, drained
  • 2 plum tomatoes, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup sliced roasted red peppers
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons chopped pitted nicoise olives

Directions:

1. To make the dressing, whisk together vinegar, parsley, broth, oil, garlic, and black pepper in small bowl.
2. with serated knife, cut baguette horizontally in half, making bottom of loaf thicker than the top.  Brush both sides of baguette with dressing.
3. Layer bottom of baguette evenly with tuna, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, onion, and olives. Drizzle with remaining dressing.  Put top on.  Eat.

