Tags

,

I just made a delicious dinner of tilapia with a nice side salad and figured I would share my recipe.

So I really wanted some fish for dinner so I was scrounging around my freezer looking for something and all we had was salmon and tilapia.  I settled on tilapia because its so warm out and salmon is best grilled in warm weather and I couldn’t be bothered to grill tonight.  I also love having lots of fresh veggies in anything I cook.  Thus, I settled on peppers and onions…standard, I know.  Well I decided to be a bit adventurous tonight.  Those of you who know me, know I do NOT like tomatoes.  Well I decided to add some tomatoes in to add some moisture and liquid to the fish.  It was delicious! I topped it off with a mix of cajun spices to add some more flavor.

I also added a small side salad to the fish with a simple oil and vinegar dressing (with my favorite olive oil and balsamic vinegar) and some heart of palm.

Cajun Tilapia

Ingredients:

  • 1 piece tilapia
  • One half red pepper
  • One quarter sweet onion
  • One plum tomato
  • Minced garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Cayanne pepper
  • Oregano
  • Chili pepper
  • Celery Salt
  • Paprika
  • Thyme
  • Salt
  • Black pepper

Directions:

  1. Cut up the pepper, onion, and tomato
  2. Place fish in frying pan with the garlic and olive oil.
  3. In a minute or two, add in the vegetables
  4. Add spices to taste
  5. Let it cook until onions are almost caramelized and tomatoes are very soft
  6. Serve hot!

For the salad, all you do is place lettuce on a plate, chop up some heart of palm, and drizzle on oil and vinegar.  When I’m only using oil and vinegar for a dressing, I tend to use really GOOD vinegar.  Thick, decedent, balsamic vinegar.  And I like to use a flavored olive oil.  I used a Tuscan Herb flavored one tonight.

Two delicious places to buy olive oil and balsamic vinegar are The Olive Tap and The Oilerie.  You can also go in and sample all of the different flavors.  Sometimes I feel like I could eat an entire meal of just olive oil and balsamic vinegar……..

Enjoy!

 

