Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well…its been a while.  I’ve been unbelievably busy lately.  My sister was home for Easter, work is insane, and I finally chose a law school! (Loyola-Chicago in case you were wondering!)

So even with all this craziness going on, I have found SOME time to cook.  My mom and I were looking for something to spice up our salmon burgers and I found a few recipes with avocados and greek yogurt.  I decided to combine a few together of them to make my own!

You can use this as a sauce to put on salmon or it is thick enough to be used as a dip for pita chips or carrots.  Do with it as you wish!

Salmon is such a summer food for me.  My family eats a lot of seafood but nothing tastes better than grilled salmon.  And what better side to go with fresh salmon?  Fresh strawberries in a spinach salad.

Avocado Lime Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 Avocados
  • 1 Lime
  • 4 tablespoons greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 sweet onion (chopped)
  • salt and pepper to taste

  

Directions:

1. Cut avocado into diced pieces.
2. Squeeze the juice out of one full lime.
3. Put all ingredients in the food processor and blend.
4. Enjoy!

Note: If you leave this in the fridge overnight the cayenne pepper will become more potent.  Just be aware of this.  If you leave this in the fridge for two nights in the fridge, it will turn brown.  It probably still tastes fine, but avocados do that….

Strawberry Spinach Salad

All this salad entails is:

  • Spinach
  • Fresh strawberries
  • Sweet onions
  • Poppyseed Dressing

Mix it all together.  YUM!

